Domestic Violence

 

The Domestic Violence Unit operates on two levels, the first is legal and the second is awareness-raising.

On the legal level, the Unit launches campaigns to stifle discrimination against women laws and submits draft laws that protect women from violence and achieve equality within the family.

In this context, it is following up on the implementation and activation of Law No. 293/2014 regarding the protection of women and other family members from domestic violence, which was approved on April 1, 2014, after a six-year lobbying campaign led by KAFA. It is also working to fill its gaps. It built a partnership with the Internal Security Forces and the Ministry of Justice, to activate protection for women, resulting in a draft to amend Law 293. This draft was signed and submitted to the Parliament by 10 deputies belonging to different political blocs, approved in the plenary session on December 21, 2020, and published in the Official Gazette under No. 204/2020.

The Domestic Violence Unit also works on exposing the discrimination that exists in the personal status laws adopted in Lebanon, which give men absolute power within the family, seeking to dedicate the state’s role in protecting individuals’ affairs by enacting a personal status law that secures equality within the family. Therefore, studies related to these laws were prepared and a proposed draft of a general and unified personal status law was proposed to restore the state's role.

On the awareness level, the Unit is conducting training on gender, advocacy, international conventions for women, and local laws. It is preparing specialized manuals and other manuals for training the trainers, most importantly those that have been prepared for training the Internal Security Forces on how to intervene with victims of domestic violence.

 

النشاطات

Numerical Report of KAFA during August 2020

This project, in collaboration with UNDEF Fund, aims to strengthen advocacy efforts towards a gender-sensitive civil personal status law in Lebanon. It will build a strong foundation for a well-informed, consistent national campaign to change the current law, which threatens democracy and human rights, in particular the rights of women, children, and marginalized groups, as well as increasing political pressure on lawmakers.

Numerical Report of KAFA during July 2020
1371.This is the number of calls Kafa has received during the month of June. Yet again, as has been the case for many months now, it exceeds the number of calls received during the previous month.
Numerical Report of KAFA during June 2020
"I am afraid. I am afraid I’ll be separated from my children, scared I will be thrown on the street. I cannot live in this nightmare any longer." This is the state in which women who contact Kafa’s support center are living.

« A woman was beaten up by her brother and kicked out of the house. She is now on the street. » « A woman is now being physically assaulted in her own house. »

« He took away my one-week-old son. » « A man beat up his wife with a rolling pin and broke her arm. He left the house where she stayed with her children. »

Amal found a house to shelter her, however, many other victims of abuse don’t have anywhere to go due to the current situation. One woman used to find refuge at her sister’s house, in times of need, but this time, her sister could not receive her, for fear of catching the Coronavirus. Furthermore, the shelters that usually host women victims of violence are not receiving new cases, according to Kafa’s sources, for the same reason.
“They look at us like we were the Virus itself.” Those were the words of a Syrian woman during one of the weekly social support sessions that Kafa has been organizing for the past three weeks via WhatsApp. The sessions are attended by 142 Syrian women from 65 camps in Northern Bekaa.

A video on violence against women and KAFA's support center.

العنف الأسري

 

تعمل الوحدة الخاصة بالعنف الأسري على مستويين، الأول قانوني والثاني توعوي.

على المستوى القانوني، تُطلق الوحدة حملات لتعديل القوانين التمييزبة ضد النساء وتقدّم إقتراحات قوانين تحمي النساء من العنف الممارس عليهنّ وتحقّق المساواة داخل الأسرة.

وفي هذا الإطار تقوم بمتابعة تطبيق وتفعيل القانون رقم 293 /2014 الخاص بحماية النساء وسائر أفراد الأسرة من العنف الأسري الذي أُقرّ في 1 نيسان 2014 بعد حملةٍ ضاغطة قادتها منظمة كفى لمدة ست سنوات. كما وتعمل على سدّ الثغرات التي تعتيره. وقد بنت شراكة مع قوى الأمن الداخلي ومع وزراة العدل، بهدف تفعيل الحماية للنساء، نتج عنها اقتراح لتعديل القانون 293 تم توقيعه وتقديمه الى المجلس النيابي من قبل 10 نواب ينتمون الى كتل نيابية مختلفة.

 تعمل الوحدة الخاصة بالعنف الأسري كذلك على فضح التمييز القائم في قوانين الأحوال الشخصية المعتمدة في لبنان والتي تعطي الرجل السلطة المطلقة داخل العائلة، ساعية الى تكريس دور الدولة في حماية شؤون الأفراد عبر سن قانون للأحوال الشخصية يؤمّن المساواة داخل الأسرة. ولذلك، تم اعداد دراسات خاصة بهذه القوانين وإقتراح مسودة قانون عام وموحّد للأحوال الشخصية يعيد للدولة دورها.

على المستوى التوعوي، تعقد الوحدة تدريبات على الجندر والمدافعة والإتفاقيات الدولية الخاصة بالنساء والقوانين المحلية. وتقوم بتحضير أدلّة تخصصية وأخرى لتدريب المدربين، أهمها تلك التي أعدت لتدريب عناصر قوى الأمن الداخلي على كيفية التدخل مع ضحايا العنف الأسري.

 

النشاطات

في محاولة لتبرير رفضها إقرار قانون موحد للأحوال الشخصية، تدّعي السلطات الدينية بأن إقراره يؤدي إلى تفكك الأسرة والمجتمع. لتخفي المحاكم الدينية خلف هذه الذريعة خوفها من إقرار الدولة قانون أحوال شخصية يحقق العدالة والمساواة، فيرفع سلطتها عن حياة الناس ويؤدي لتراجع نفوذها وسطوتها على علاقة الناس فيما بينهم.
بعد الإنفجار، رأت كفى بأن الخدمات القانونية والإجتماعية والنفسية التي تقدّمها للنساء وأولادهنّ في العادة لم تعد كافية في مثل هذه الأوقات العصيبة وبادرت الى أعمال الإغاثة التي أضافتها الى تقديماتها.

This project, in collaboration with UNDEF Fund, aims to strengthen advocacy efforts towards a gender-sensitive civil personal status law in Lebanon. It will build a strong foundation for a well-informed, consistent national campaign to change the current law, which threatens democracy and human rights, in particular the rights of women, children, and marginalized groups, as well as increasing political pressure on lawmakers.

1253 هو عدد الإتصالات التي تلقّتها كفى خلال شهر تموز 2020 وتوزّعت على الشكل التالي:

توزيع الإتصالات

411 سيّدة من مناطق وجنسيات مختلفة استفدن من الخدمات التي يقدّمها مركز الدعم في كفى: 

التوزيع الجغرافي

 

1371 هو عدد الاتصالات التي تلقّتها كفى خلال شهر حزيران، وهو كما في كل شهر، يتخطّى رقم الشهر الذي سبقه.

"أنا خايفة. خايفة إبقى بلا ولادي، خايفة صير بالشارع. ما بقى قادرة عيش بهالكابوس".

هذه حالة النساء اللواتي يتواصلن مع مركز الدعم في كفى.

هذا الازدياد مرتبط أيضاً بجرائم قتل النساء الستّ التي حصلت في شهر نيسان. إذ وكما جرت العادة منذ سنين، تزيد نسبة الإتصالات بكفى مع كل جريمة قتل للنساء، لأن الخوف من مصير مشابه ممّن عانين من العنف لسنين طويلة وسكتن عنه، يدفع بهنّ أخيراً الى طلب المساعدة.
"ينظرون إلينا على أننا نحن الفايروس". هذا ما قالته سيّدة سورية في إحدى جلسات الدعم الإجتماعي التي تنظّمها كفى كل أسبوع منذ ثلاثة أسابيع عبر الواتساب وتضمّ 142 سيّدة سورية من 65 مخيّما في البقاع الشمالي.
وجدت أمل بيتاً تلجأ إليه، لكن هناك كثيرات غيرها يتعرّضن لعنف ولا مكان يذهبن إليه في الوضع الحالي. هناك سيّدة كانت تلجأ الى بيت أختها عند الحاجة، هذه المرّة اعتذرت الأخت عن استقبالها بسبب الخوف من الكورونا. كما أنّ المآوي التي تستقبل النساء المعنّفات عادة، لم تعد تستقبل حالات جديدة كما علمت كفى، للسبب ذاته.
يطبق في فلسطين قانون عقوبات يعود إلى ستينات القرن الماضي ويتضمّن عقوبات مُخففة لمن يقتل الفتيات والنساء بقضايا "جرائم الشرف".
رد كفى على ملاحظات المحاكم الطائفية على تعديل القانون 293

بعد تقديم إقتراح تعديل قانون "حماية النساء وسائر أفراد الأسرة من العنف الأسري" في ٢٦ تشرين الثاني 2018 من قبل عشرة نواب من كتل نيابية مختلفة بهدف تأمين حماية أكبر للنساء، أُحيل اقتراح القانون في 19 كانون الأول الى اللجان النيابية المشتركة وجرى إدراجه على جدول أعمال اللجان التي انعقدت لأول مرة في 10 كانون الثاني 2019 لمناقشتة.

ملفات

اقتراح تعديل القانون 293 الموقع من 10 نواب